What You Love

October 3, 2010

Sunday Slide!

Welcome to the Sunday Slide.

It's easy. Follow the host (What U Love). Grade the slide button. Post it on you blog. Follow at least 2 new people on the slide.

What U Love - Sunday Slide

September 21, 2010

Every Day is Monday

In our house we have a saying "Every day is Monday." We have this because every day for us is the same as the last. My husband is a truck driver and has no set schedual, so therefor he could work everday. I stay at home with our two boys and most of the time forget what day it is because we stay at home. We live about 20 minutes from the nearest town and to pack up and go kinda needs to be planned.

I hope that one day our "every day is Monday" will be a good thing because we will have the freedom to do what we want and not have to worry about what day it is or if there is going to be work that day or not.

September 16, 2010

New Product Review and Give A Way Coming Soon (great for the kids!!)

I have a new product review coming soon. There is also a give a way with this review. It will be winners choice!! In order to enter the give a way you must follow this blog. Extra entries will also be available by following What U Love on Facebook and by visiting the Give A Way's sites.

Stay tuned.

September 15, 2010

Wordless Wednesday

This Wordless Wednesday is not really wordless, more like wordful. My son who is just over 2 1/2 can read to me over 20 sight words (not to mention he knows his colors, shapes, numbers and alphabet). To me, a teacher with my last position before mat leave was as a kindergarten teacher this is amazing. I guess to any mother of their own child this would be amazing too.

I love my boys and and am blessed to spend this time with them when they are like sponges, taking in everything that is done, said and shown to them.

September 13, 2010

Review of Monkey Cheeks

I love it when I find beautiful, well made, hand made items. I am hoping that the things that I love will also be What U Love as well.

Monkey Cheeks is not only beautiful and well made, it is also unique. Kim is a mother of 2 boys (23 months & 3 months).

“My girlfriends convinced me to start selling my items on Etsy. Opened in Jan 2010 and I'm loving it. Not a bit tired of sewing every night and just love coming up with new items for the store. In fact I have so many things I want to make I just can't find the time.

My favorite part is buying fabric! I actually think I may have an addiction. I can never pass up a pretty print!

I think my most favorite item to make is the crayon wallet. The cute fabrics and a functional item just make it my favorite.”

The two products that I am reviewing are The BUSY MOM Organizer and the Crayon Wallet. But Monkey Cheeks has other products as well. Including: The BUSY MOM Clutch Organizer, The BUSY MOM Wallet, The BUSY MOM Planner, Boutique Style Diaper Wipe Cases, Hair Clips, Bows & Ponytail holders.

The BUSY MOM Organizer was a great find. Being a busy mom, as most moms are I found this product to be very handy and useful. It holds a note pad (I always know where to write my lists) there is a spot to hold a pen or pencil as well as extra pockets to hold other various items like your cell phone or coupons. I personally use the extra pockets to hold my stamps and letters that need to be mailed or bills that need to be paid. The BUSY MOM Organizer is made up of three different fabrics (the fabric choices are beautiful and can easily compliment any style). The button and elastic closure make The BUSY MOM Organizer expandable. This means that when I have a lot of papers or thick envelopes to bring with me this Organizer will hold them all. Then I know exactly where they all are.

“Put it in your purse or just keep in near you for quick access to all your things. Coupons, iphone, business cards, receipts, shopping lists, and anything else we busy Moms need to keep close. You can even put personalized stationary in it and give it as wonderful gift!

This notebook includes a slot for a pen, a large 5x8 notepad and 4 handy pockets with stitched detailing for a little something extra. Notebook measures 6.5 x 8.5 when closed and 13 x 17 when fully opened. The perfect size! Notebook seals secure with a matching button.

With 2 boys myself (2 years 9 months and 6 months) the crayon wallet works wonders. I gave it to L to use while we were in the car, at dinner, visiting friends and at home. And he loved it in all these places. The crayon wallet comes with a 4x6 pad, 8 crayons, but the slots are big enough to hold 16, which is nice if you would like to add more colors to your child’s pallet. It is also made with an extra pocket which can hold stickers, finished artwork or other embellishments. The wallet measures 6 x 5 when closed (which fits nicely in any diaper bag) and 6 x 15 when opened. It has a Velcro latch to keep everything neat and tidy.

Not only does L use this crayon wallet but it also comes in a variety adorable fabrics. L’s is made from Disney’s Cars Theme and having “McQueen” on his own special crayons makes it something that he loves even more.

Kim was great to deal with. Great customer service and a great product. Her prices are very reasonable as well as shipping costs. This is defiantly a product that I love and I hope that it will be What U Love too.

You can contact Monkey Cheeks through Facebook or on Etsy.

September 11, 2010

Sunday Slide #1

It's simple to participate, here are the rules:

Please place the "Sunday Slide" button in a blog post and/or on your blog somewhere. This lets us all know where to find each other!
Follow my blog.
Visit at least 2 blogs on this list.
Add your name/image to the linky list below so we can visit you back. I will be following everyone who posts.

Comments are optional but always appreciated☺

Code for Sunday Slide
http://whatulovereview.blogspot.com/"> src=" http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_vTmDyR6CbN4/TI0OipRokVI/AAAAAAAAAF0/9pyyPeVT6A0/s1600/sunday+slide+3.jpg" border="0" width="150" height="150" alt="BannerFans.com" />

Other Sunday Blog Hops

Sunday Strolling Blog Hop

September 10, 2010

Review of The Head Said

Review of The Head Said

The Head Said is a wonderful find. Shawn, makes wonderful handcrafted custom crocheted hats and one of a kind character hats. The Head Said was generous enough to pass along a beautiful hat for my review.

Here is some background on The Head Said:


What you wear on your head says a lot about you?

The style and color hat you wear leaves an instant impression on others without you even saying a word.

With over 33 years crocheting experience... I can create a unique one of a kind hat that you will enjoy for years to come. If your love is a hat with long ear flaps or maybe a multi colored "scrap cap" ... I have just the thing for you. Skiers and snowboarders ... stand out on the slopes! Look good and have fun all while staying warm.”

The hat that I was able to review was a child size sock monkey hat. I have a son who will be 3 at Christmas, and I put this hat on him and he looked adorable. Description from The Head Said

“This is a custom hat made to look like a sock monkey with a flat face. The colors are off white, red and heather gray.
This hat is hand crocheted single stitch with double yarn which makes it super warm and without holes.
This is a super fun hat that you wont want to take off! “

Living in Alberta, Canada with our cold winters this hat was made from a thick yarn, perfect to keep little ears and big ears warm in our harsh winters. The Head Said is able to make all types of crocheted hats, they are easily customizable. For example with or without earflaps, with or without tassels. The Head Said makes hats for infants, toddlers and adults with a variety of styles to choose from. There are some recognizable characters from TV shows, character hats, brim hats, striped hats, beanie caps and my favorite used for Halloween costumes.

Prices for the hats range from $5 for a mini party favor hat to $25 for an adult hat. Shipping prices are very fair $3.50 to the US and $5.50 to Canada. Discounts are available for multiple purchases.

The workmanship that goes into these hats makes them something that is What U Love. I would highly recommend that if you are looking for a unique hand made hat for you or anyone in your family. Please check out The Head Said found on Artfire, Etsy and their personal webpage http://www.theheadsaid.com


Smart and Trendy Moms

My Wee View

Time for a Friday Blog Hop.

Please leave a comment if you are a new follower, so that I can find you and follow you back.

September 9, 2010

Thursday Blog Hops

Please remember to leave a comment, so that I can follow you back.

The Two Savvy Sisters

Been A Busy Week

So it has been a busy week. Had a great long weekend now to get back into it. I have a great review of some wonderful crochet animal hats coming up.

August 25, 2010

Blog Hops!

Hello Wednesday blog hoppers :)
Thank you for stopping by! Please leave a comment so I can follow you back.


Today is the first day back in my district. Only the teachers and staff were required to go. And here I am, at home with my two little angels:) So glad, and the weather is even nice today. Now if only my husband could be home today too.

Wednesday Blog Hops Coming Up Later Today!

August 24, 2010

Check Out the Metal Memories Give A Way


Be sure to enter in the Metal Memories Give A Way. Free shipping for the necklace if won by a Canadian, $3 if you are a US resident.

August 23, 2010

Tuesday Blog Hops

Welcome new followers! Just leave a comment here and I'll follow you back :)

Also check out the Metal Memories Give A Way under Aug 21.

Welcome Monday

With only a little bit of summer left, and school around the corner this Mom, who is also an elementary teacher, loves this time of year. I am fortunate enough to be able to stay at home right now with my 2 beautiful children, but I can feel it in the air. Clean classrooms, new decorations, new supplies, excitement for the New Year and the new kids.

I love watching the progress that my class has made from the beginning of they year to the end. This year I will not experience that, rather, I will only see them for a few short months at the end of the school year. However, I will have the joys of seeing my own children, the two most important little people in my word, grow and experience many new things. I will watch my 2 year old turn into a 3 year old, get to listen to his stories and songs. I will be able to see my 6 month old sit, crawl and eventually walk. These are things that I can never get back. Things that if I was working I would miss. Teaching will always be there, with the clean smells and new classroom & supplies with new kids, but my kids will only go through this once. And as I said earlier, I am so grateful and fortunate to be able to spend this amazing time with my own children. I plan to cherish these moments and love my children every day, teaching the values and virtues that are important in my family. Because, before I know it, it will be them showing the excitement for the new school year with the new teacher, new classroom and new supplies.

August 21, 2010

Metal Memories Give A Way

Pleae use the form at the bottom of the page.

Metal Memories Give A Way

Metal Memories Contest Give A Way

This give a way is for Tiny Tag Locket OR a Rectangle Tiny Tag Necklace provided by Metal Memories, hand stamped custom personalized pieces.

Here’s how you enter:

You have to follow this blog to enter.

Follow the guidelines listed below and complete the entry form in this format you must complete an entry for every guideline you qualify for each guide line is good for one (1) entry:

Contest Entry: Your Name and Guideline Number (ie: 1 for follow on Face Book)
Link: If a link is required OR your own link
*Email Address: self explanatory


#1 Be a Fan of What U Love on FaceBook
#2 Be a Fan of Metal Memories on FaceBook
#3 Visit Metal Memories webpage and tell me which piece you like
#4 Blog about this give a way (leave link)

Contest runs until the end of August. A winner will only be choosen using Random Number Generator if there are 30 or more followers. If less than 30 then the contest will start over.

Thanks for following!!

*all emails are kept confidential

Metal Memories Review

For my first review, Metal Memories was gracious enough to pass along a few products for me to see (and also has provided a Tiny Tag Locket OR a Rectangle Tiny Tag Necklace as a Give Away item).

Here is some background on Metal Memories. Metal Memories is a 1 Mom show. Pam is currently a SAHM of 2. L who is 2 years 8 months and C who is almost 6 months. She began Metal Memories to create beautiful pieces to showcase your family in a unique way. There are many items available; all are hand made and hand created by Pam. In making her custom pieces, Metal Memories uses sterling silver, copper, brass, and nickel silver. The ideas are endless for the perfect custom piece for anyone in your family. Moms, Dads, Grandmothers & Grandfathers and any one you can think of (even your family pet). Metal Memories is always willing to work with you if you cannot find the piece that you are looking for on the website. Metal Memories is based out of Alberta, Canada.

Now to the nitty-gritty. The first product that was passed along was a Gum Drop Bottle Cap. This bottle cap was an unused bottle cap that had the Metal Memories logo in it. (But it can be made to any custom picture that you wish). It has a strong magnet attached to the back that can be used on your fridge or in a locker. (Like Metal Memories mentioned, anyone can benefit from the great items!!) This Gum Drop Bottle Cap Magnet looks like a beautiful flower staring at you from your fridge. It is very pleasing to they eye. I would defiantly recommend the Gum Drop Bottle Cap Magnet. This would work great for a chore list on your fridge with a cute picture of everyone in your family. I have to also mention that the packaging for this item was very professional. It came in an organza pouch packaged in its own cellophane bag attached to a cardstock paper with ideas on how to use it. Very professional looking would be perfect as a gift, as it is ready to Give!

The second item, which I might add also came beautifully packaged in an organza bag, cellophane bag and attached to a card stock paper highlighting the piece was a Mixed Tiny Tag Necklace. This necklace came on a standard chain, which complimented it perfectly as it is very elegant. The Tiny Tags were left blank, but can easily be hand stamped with any initial. They also came with 4mm birthstone Swarovski drop crystals. This piece would and does look great with any outfit. It is elegant, casual and fun all in one.

The final piece that was passed along was a Rustic Washer. This was made from a stainless steel washer; it came on a hemp cord necklace. Hand stamped with the words “LIVE.LAUGH.LOVE” it is the perfect causal piece. The Rustic Washer can be hand stamped with any names or quotes that you like; it can also come without the hemp cord. These Rustic Washers are also sold in bulk from Metal Memories and make great thank you gifts for any occasion. They came in a cellophane bag attached to cardstock. There are also great ideas listed that they can be used for, my favourite is the pocket token, something that you can put in your pocket that is a visual and textural reminder.

My overall experience with Metal Memories was great. Great customer service, asking questions to achieve the perfect product in the end. Great shipping prices, only $3 in Canada just to cover the cost of the envelope and stamp. Products were professionally packaged. Products were exactly as described and even more beautiful in person. Metal Memories is highly recommended as a product that is What U Love!

To contact Metal Memories email: MetalMemories@live.ca
FaceBook page: http://www.facebook.com/MetalMemories
Website: http://www.metalmemories.biz

August 20, 2010

Format for Free Link Friday

Please put your name, your business name, what it is linking too ie: FB FaceBook, WP Webpage, or Blog.

Free Link Friday!

Okay, today is Free Link Friday. Share your Blog, Website or FB Page!!

Be sure to comment so whe know what it is that you provide.

Check out Metal Memories as they will be the first review and product give away.

August 19, 2010


It is nice to see that there are close to 30 Fans on FaceBook, but only 2 Followers? In order for there to be a give a way there has to be at least 30 on here, so don't forget to tell your friends.

I will be doing a product review from Metal Memories before the give away. They make some really beautiful items. It is also at that time that the give away item will be announced.

August 18, 2010

Now On FaceBook!

Alright, we are now on FaceBook and once we reach 40 Fans there, we will have a give away here. Which means that you will have to follow this site in order to be in the give away. The give away will be the first product and will be from Metal Memories. You have to be a fan of both Metal Memories and What U Love to be entered into this give a away.

Here is our Logo!

Let's Get Started!

Let's face it, we all have stuff. Stuff that is "garbage", stuff that is "OK" and best of all stuff that U LOVE!! This stuff, the stuff U Love is the best stuff, but also is the hardest type to get. We see something think that it is perfect, but turns out it is not.

Here I will help you find What U Love. I will give my opinion and I hope it will help.

If you have a product, and you think it will be What We Love, then please let me know:)